Remember that time we went to Parliament House to watch the passing of the Civil Unions Bill?

1 Dec

Last night we attended Parliament House in Brisbane to witness the debate and passing of the Civil Unions Bill. It was a fabulous event, a historic one, and I’ve been talking about it all day but I can’t seem to find the words to write here… 

The day after the big night both Zanne and I feel very proud to live in a state whose government supports equality and love for all. Last night our unborn baby kicked on in-utero as we watched member after member articulate beautifully about matters of equality, social justice and love. It was a night we’ll always remember.

There are loads of articles in the media today about the passing of the bill – here are a couple of links for:

Brisbane Times blow by blow

ABC News – Qld passes civil unions bill


Below is an email I sent to my work colleagues this morning. I encourage you all to send messages of support to those MPs who supported the bill – they are total rockstars if you ask me.


Sent: Thursday, 1 December 2011 9:34 AM
To: All Officers and Staff
Subject: The Civil Unions bill was passed last night
Importance: High


Dear all,

On the 21st anniversary of the Labor government’s decriminalisation of homosexuality in Queensland the Civil Unions bill was passed last night – 47 votes to 40.

The Civil Partnerships Act will allow same-sex and heterosexual couples to formally register their relationships with the Queensland Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages, a move dismissed by opponents as mimicking marriage but hailed by supporters as an important step towards equality.

Deputy Premier Andrew Fraser, who put forward the private member’s bill, said it was important to recognise the difference between civil unions and gay marriage.

What we’re doing here in Queensland is going as far as we can as a state to provide for a quality of recognition of relationships in order to access the sort of rights that many people take for granted.”

If you would like to pass on a message of support to our champions of equality, details of those who supported the bill are below:

Attwood, Julie (ALP)

Parliamentary Secretary for Health

Electorate: Mount Ommaney


Bligh, Anna (ALP)

Premier and Minister for Reconstruction

Electorate: South Brisbane


Boyle, Desley (ALP)

Electorate: Cairns


Croft, Peta-Kaye (ALP)

Parliamentary Secretary assisting the Premier on the Gold Coast and the Commonwealth Games

Electorate: Broadwater


Darling, Vicky (ALP)

Minister for Environment

Electorate: Sandgate


Dick, Cameron (ALP)

Minister for Education and Industrial Relations

Electorate: Greenslopes


Farmer, Di (ALP)

Electorate: Bulimba


Finn, Simon (ALP)

Minister for Government Services, Building Industry and Information and Communication Technology

Electorate: Yeerongpilly


Fraser, Andrew (ALP)

Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for State Development and Trade

Electorate: Mount Coot-tha


Grace, Grace (ALP)

Deputy Government Whip

Electorate: Brisbane Central


Hinchliffe, Stirling (ALP)

Minister for Employment, Skills and Mining

Electorate: Stafford


Hoolihan, Paul (ALP)

Electorate: Keppel


Jarratt, Jan (ALP)

Minister for Tourism, Manufacturing and Small Business

Electorate: Whitsunday


Johnstone, Mandy (ALP)

Electorate: Townsville


Jones, Kate (ALP)

Electorate: Ashgrove


Kiernan, Betty (ALP)

Parliamentary Secretary for Emergency Services

Electorate: Mount Isa


Kilburn, Steve (ALP)

Electorate: Chatsworth


Lawlor, Peter (ALP)

Electorate: Southport


Lucas, Paul (ALP)

Attorney-General, Minister for Local Government and Special Minister of State

Electorate: Lytton


Male, Carolyn (ALP)

Deputy Government Whip

Electorate: Pine Rivers


Moorhead, Evan (ALP)

Electorate: Waterford


Mulherin, Tim (ALP)

Minister for Agriculture, Food and Regional Economies

Electorate: Mackay


Nelson-Carr, Lindy (ALP)

Electorate: Mundingburra


Electorate: Nolan, Rachel (ALP)

Minister for Finance, Natural Resources and The Arts

Electorate: Ipswich


O’Brien, Jason (ALP)

Chairman of Committees and Deputy Speaker

Electorate: Cook


O’Neill, Mary-Anne (ALP)

Electorate: Kallangur


Palaszczuk, Annastacia (ALP)

Minister for Transport and Multicultural Affairs

Electorate: Inala


Pitt, Curtis (ALP)

Minister for Disability Services, Mental Health and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships

Electorate: Mulgrave


Electorate: Reeves, Phil (ALP)

Minister for Child Safety and Minister for Sport

Electorate: Mansfield


Roberts, Neil (ALP)

Minister for Police, Corrective Services and Emergency Services

Electorate: Nudgee



Robertson, Stephen (ALP)

Minister for Energy and Water Utilities

Electorate: Stretton


Ryan, Mark (ALP)

Electorate: Morayfield


Schwarten, Robert (ALP)

Electorate: Rockhampton


Scott, Desley (ALP)

Electorate: Woodridge


Shine, Kerry (ALP)

Electorate: Toowoomba North


Smith, Christine (ALP)

Caucus Secretary

Electorate: Burleigh


Spence, Judy (ALP)

Parliamentary Secretary for Parliamentary Reform, Leader of the House

Electorate: Sunnybank


Stone, Barbara (ALP)

Electorate: Springwood


Struthers, Karen (ALP)

Minister for Community Services and Housing and Minister for Women

Electorate: Algester


Sullivan, Carryn (ALP)

Electorate: Pumicestone


van Litsenburg, Lillian (ALP)

Caucus Chair

Electorate: Redcliffe


Wallace, Craig (ALP)

Minister for Main Roads, Fisheries and Marine Infrastructure

Electorate: Thuringowa


Watt, Murray (ALP)

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer and for State Development

Electorate: Everton


Wellington, Peter (IND)

Electorate: Nicklin


Wells, Dean (ALP)

Electorate: Murrumba


Wendt, Wayne (ALP)

Electorate: Ipswich West


Wettenhall, Steve (ALP)

Parliamentary Secretary assisting the Premier on Economic Development in the Far North

Electorate: Barron River



Out of interest, four Labor MPs did not support the bill – Jo Ann Miller, Michael Choi, Geoff Wilson and Margaret Keech.

Independent MP for Nicklin Peter Wellington joined the majority of Labor MPs in supporting it, but all the other crossbenchers and independents voted against.

The LNP voted as a bloc against it.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: