Fourteen weeks – baby brain

25 Oct

Pre-pregnancy I thought baby brain was one of those things that pregnant ladies made up. Well, I’m suddenly a believer. See below examples:

–  This morning I emailed my wife to tell her I had lost my phone, it must have fallen out of the car when I dropped her off at work I said. It wasn’t in my bag and I had searched the car, it was nowhere. Zanne called my phone and sent a text asking for whoever finds it to contact her – that’s when I heard my phone vibrating in my bag. I seriously could not believe it. I laughed at myself for ages.

–  On Friday I told my friend’s mother-in-law that “I read to learn very young”. She replied “I think you mean learned to read” and I was all like what is she talking about, I just said that – the penny dropped about 10 minutes later.

–  A couple of weeks ago it would appear that I threw correspondence from the hospital about our 20 week scan in the bin. I have no recollection of doing it but that is where Zanne found it.

–  Last week at work I almost put my bag in the fridge instead of my lunch. Almost.

I’m usually a very organised person (just ask my wife) so this is all very confusing for me. Luckily it is also very amusing 🙂

2 Responses to “Fourteen weeks – baby brain”

  1. Bree October 25, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    I don’t tend to get weird baby-brain but I LOSE words. I can be talking away and a perfectly normal word will fly right out of my head. Has happened in both pregnancies. Makes you realise the frustration that poor stroke victims or alzheimers people feel (although on a much much smaller scale of course). I also ring people to tell them something and then completely forget what it was (and then have to call back 10 mins, 1 hour, 1 day later to tell them again once I remember).

  2. tattoomummy October 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    More than once I left the oven on the entire night…

Leave a Reply

