Imagine if we were taught this stuff when we were in school

8 Aug

I was recently invited to participate in a planning session for a workshop destined for presentation in local schools. Our little team met for the first time last Wednesday. The 2 hour workshop was quickly christened “Creating safe schools for all”. It’s subject matter: awareness and acceptance of diversity in race, gender and sexuality. Imagine if we were taught this stuff when we were in school!

I’m so excited about this project and I’m grateful to my employer for supporting me and putting me forward for it, especially considering I’m an inexperienced workshopper. My qualifications for this project are limited to: lesbian, activist, somewhat intelligent young person – but, as per, I more than make up for my inexperience with positivity and enthusiasm.

We smashed out the first draft of the workshop within hours – all members of the team clearly have a passion for the subject matter, which is just so wonderful. Our next step involves getting ready to present the workshop to a gathering of community groups and school leaders. I’ve already requested the non-speaking roles – public speaking is scary, people!!

Will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

