I like your tatts!

28 Jul

We’ve been preparing for our second FET, which means I’ve been having more blood tests, which means more of the same conversations about taking blood from my tattooed arm. Some nurses have mild freakouts ‘cause they can’t see my veins, one nurse will only use the opposite arm, some nurses have given me an alias: “the lady with the pretty arm” (not as cool Shannon The Awesome but it will do) and ALL OF THEM spend the entire blood-taking-session talking tattoos ie. other patient’s tattoos, their family member’s tattoos, good/bad tattoos they’ve seen in their time/the tattoo they dream of but would never get/etc.

When I got my sleeve I hadn’t given any thought to blood test situations, nor had I any idea about all this repetitive conversation. Now, I hear what you’re thinking: WHO CARES??? True, this is a first world problem, but I’m going to persevere with this thread nonetheless. It’s my blog, what of it??

My sleeve also receives reaction from women who aren’t “my” nurses… if I had a dollar for every time some older woman (ie. woman older than me) has said to me “I like your tatts”, well, I’d have dozens of dollars. It amuses me when I hear this phrase because:

1.  I never expected that older women would be so interested in, and complimentary of, my tattoos; and

2. They use the word “tatts”. Funny.

 You know what is not amusing though? When people touch my arm, especially without warning. It happens often and I’d love to be all like: “Oi! Ever heard of personal space, you weirdo?!” But I’m far too polite and I end up smiling and nodding as they share their idea for whatever tattoo they’d like to get but are too scared etc, etc.

 Can you imagine how unamused I’ll be when I’m pregnant and randoms touch my great big belly? I bet Zanne can. I think maybe I’ll prepare and memorise a list of funny-yet-assertive comments for such moments, maybe even carry palm cards with me… You know, ‘cause I can’t think on my feet, am too polite and also was born with more awkward genes than regular people. True story.

 In summary, I might be pregnant after Saturday.

6 Responses to “I like your tatts!”

  1. Bree July 28, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I was going to say, wait til you are pregnant and randoms start touching your belly.

    But weirder than that (for me) was when you have the baby and you start breastfeeding and every nurse and their dog comes in and handles your boobs (sometimes without asking first) in order to help you out/ show you what to do. Very very weird.

    • ourtinydancer July 28, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      Whaaaa???????????? Random boob grabs in addition to public conception? Wowee this baby making business is something else!

  2. Doreen July 29, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Hope all goes splendidly tomorrow..missed your positive presence at work today..

  3. Bree July 29, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    and we’re not just talking random grabs, we’re talking full on pumping and groping!

  4. Nichola July 29, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    May the force be with you!! 🙂

  5. Lil-Going Left July 31, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Just grab theirs and rub it back, works a treat haha!
    Booby grabs are us in hospital… people wanting to come and “check your stitches” and ask if you have “opened your bowels today” in front of the in-laws… But wait until a random touches your baby without permission.
    Ah the joys!
    By the way if i see you at any time during this pregnancy i WILL touch your stomach, start preparing now 🙂

Leave a Reply

