four women knocked me up

28 Jun

Yesterday we had our very first Frozen Embryo Transfer (FET). It was less magical than I had imagined… It was pretty much a very public 15 minute long pap smear (complete with speculum). Our Dr must have mind-reading powers because partway through she said: “this will feel like a bit of an anti-climax actually”. There’s nothing wrong with anti-climax though, especially when you’re super nervous and you have your bits on display…

So, I’m proud to say that four women knocked me up (Dr, Scientist, Nurse, Wife), even though the situation had quite the alien experiment vibe – stirrups, lights on ceiling, scientist, etc. But while the theatre was intimidating and sterile, the ladies were incredibly warm and kind – and my positive opinion of them peaked when the scientist described our embryo as A Grade and our Dr said it is the best she has seen all year. Of course this statement was quickly followed up with a disclaimer: “there are no guarantees but this is a good start”. Disclaimer duly ignored.

On the drive home I reclined the passenger seat way back (on Zanne’s insistence) and the rest of the afternoon was spent lying on the couch, watching The Beatles Anthology on DVD and skimming through What to Expect When You’re Expecting. Accordingly, I have two questions:

1.   Why is your due date calculated from the date of your last period? Why not use the date of conception? I can’t get my head around the fact that the first two weeks of pregnancy include no actual pregnancy.

2.   9 months does not equal 40 weeks – ???

Let the nausea and fatigue fun begin.

4 Responses to “four women knocked me up”

  1. Bree June 28, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Yay how exciting! Do you want the technical answers to your questions?
    A pregnancy is calculated from the date of last period as it’s often a more reliable date and even if you ‘do it’ one day you mightn’t get pregnant til a day or so after.
    And no it’s not 9 months, from the last period it’s 40 weeks – closer to 10 months! Although babies are fully cooked anywhere from 38 to 42 weeks.

    Here’s hoping for implantation! How many did they put in? that’s the million dollar question.
    Bree

  2. Sarah June 28, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    The 40 weeks refers to the date from the last period, 9 months refers to the conception date. It drove me crazy when I was explaining it to the hospital who kept trying to change my due date after our IVF cycles, “NOOOOO I know the date of conception 100% you are all wrong!”

    Good luck to you guys 🙂

    We go in TOMORROW!!

  3. Lil June 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Ahhh, im so excited for you two!!! xxxx cant wait to see the updates 🙂

  4. Toushka Lee June 29, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I was surprised about the dating thing with my first pregnancy too. I lived in melbourne for two months before my partner moved over to join me, and 4 weeks after that I announced I was 6 weeks pregnant. I had some quick explaining to do!

    Best wishes for a smooth pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

