11 June 2011 – the big day, for reals

15 Jun

The morning of my 30th birthday began with a surprise family breakfast and ended with a surprise fine-dining-with-wife-in-another-city dinner. Today I felt so loved and lucky and adored and treasured – I could live this day over 10 times and want to live it 10 more. I felt so loved and lucky that fear grabbed my heart with both its grotty hands and squeezed hard. And I was reminded of this SATC moment:

Charlotte: Nobody gets everything they want! Look at you. Look at Miranda. You’re good people and you two both got shafted. I’m so happy and…something bad is going to happen.

Carrie: Sweetie, you sh!t your pants this year. I think you’re done.

I have never sh!t my pants…!

The sh!tting-my-pants thoughts, though very real, were only brief. Most of my birthday was spent floating on a big, smiling cloud of happiness. Thank you, my family. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Leave a Reply

