30 and flirty and fabulous

11 Jun

My lovely wife turns 30 today. In fact, since we met three years ago and I realised I was 18 months younger than Shan, she has been ‘turning 30’, ‘almost 30’, ‘my older lady’, ‘my cougar’. After three long years of teasing she is finally 30 and I have promised not to start today with ‘you’re almost 40’.

So instead today starts with some revelations. Shan, we tell each other everything but today I have a few secrets to share with you so at 30 you can start the new phase of your life knowing everything you should.

Secretly, as much as I tease you about how alike you and your mum are, she has raised the most perfect daughter and our children will be blessed to have you as their mum. If you’re anything like Joma, the kids and I are in for a long life of love. And I can’t wait.

Secretly, I love that you can’t wake up without me in the morning. You’re so independent and self-sufficient that the hour in the morning where I get to be the one you need most is my favourite hour of the whole day.

Secretly, you have an inner strength that I truly admire. You’re open to compromise in every situation except those that threaten your beliefs. Then you become the Hulk and no one – not politicians, colleagues, friends or family can make you bend. You stand by what you believe no matter the consequences or the counter arguments.

Secretly, you make me proud every single day. You take on a challenge when others would never think to attempt it. You grin and bear it when others would complain. You continue pushing forward when others would give up. You make me want to be like you.

Secretly, I love the way you love me. It’s not just unconditional. It’s a complete, passionate, all encompassing love that overwhelms me. When I think about how much you love me my heart swells so much it feels like my whole chest is taken up with it. You look at me like you know me. You kiss me like you really want to. You laugh at my jokes as though they’re genuinely funny. You hold my hand tight even if we’re just driving in the car. You make me happy.

Happy 30th Birthday my love. You’ve truly made my life. I hope this weekend is everything you hope it will be. Zanne xxx

4 Responses to “30 and flirty and fabulous”

  1. Lil June 11, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Happy birthday Shan hope you have a fabulous weekend!! You two are so lucky to have eachother 🙂

  2. Doreen June 11, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Happy Birthday to my other Shan..How lucky am I to share my working day with such a special friend. Just love popping into your office and catching up on your life. You are a very positive influence on all around you.

  3. Liss June 15, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    You guys are so GOD-DAMNED CUTE! Love this post! xxx

  4. Melissa June 15, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Well this is kind of beautiful. As a wife, I can’t think of a better present. xxxx I hope she has a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

