Things I know, this week

4 Jun

1. When you have a full sleeve tattoo and are having loads of blood tests etc you should expect every single Nurse, Doctor and Anaesthesiologist to have a conversation with you about it – ie the same conversation including the same joke about the needle piercing the same flower. That’s just how it is.

2. When you’re high on oestrogen, books about a gay couple successfully adopting a healthy baby boy will make you cry, uncontrollably.

3. Speaking of (un)control: “the closest to being in control we will ever be is in that moment that we realize we’re not” (Brian Kessler). Accordingly, we are very in control right now.

4. Once a mother, always a mother. Even though I have a wife who makes for a fabulous nurse, my Mum was in full mother-mode this week. She was all about the visits, text messages and the bringing of food. So much food! It would appear that food really is how mothers show their love. I didn’t receive her full attention though, my youngest brother had his face/eyebrow tackled/split at football last weekend so she was literally doing the rounds for a couple of days – never fear Turbo Mum is here!

5. Said brother sent me a message this week designed to lift my spirits, it said: “good things happen to good people”. Which doesn’t explain his bad luck last weekend with the head injury, but it does prove once again that my shamelessly bogan siblings have no issue with their gay sister and her wife having a baby. I love ‘em!

Thank you to Yay for Home! for the opportunity to participate in Things I Know 🙂

6 Responses to “Things I know, this week”

  1. Toushka Lee June 4, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    hey. I found you through Shae’s things I know linky.
    I figured if I read it this week I would be one step closer to linking up like I keep promising I will. But each week goes by without me knowing anything.
    What I do know is that I’m a sucker for blogs about people trying to have a baby. I’ve been reading and I love all the signs and all the hope and all the love.
    And your tattoo is cool too.

    • ourtinydancer June 6, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      Haha! A lot of weeks go by without me knowing anything as well. But sometimes I know stuff 🙂
      I like your blog, I especially like your gay marriage post. Ranty, ranty goodness!

  2. Lil June 4, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Hey awesome tat! i like the idea of a full sleeve but am too scared that i will get bored of it and wanna take it off… i change my mind too much! Little brothers are just the best! good luck in your baby making efforts, looking forward to following your journey (slack i haven’t read anything yet but i will!)

    • ourtinydancer June 6, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      Well, I figure if I get sick of it I have another arm, two legs and a torso to fill up with other tattoos 🙂
      Thank you for the luck – and thank you for being my first subscriber!!

  3. Shae June 4, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    I’m so glad you linked up!
    Added your blog to my reader 🙂

    • ourtinydancer June 6, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Awesome, thank you Shae! I’m loving your Things I Know link up. My wife and I are planning a good one for this week 😉

Leave a Reply

