Change is good

27 May

It’s crazy how much can change in a day. One day my boss is ok, the next she’s in a coma. One day I have a job, the next I’m job hunting. One day we’re not mothers, the next we will be.

I started thinking about this blog this morning and it was going to be fairly sombre. Because this morning I was down. I’m generally a pretty positive person so I don’t know how to deal with being sad sometimes. I want to kick myself and tell myself to get over it, but I know that being sad is ok. That it’s normal. And that it will work itself out.

This morning it was 6 days into my 4 weeks notice and I hadn’t heard back from any recruitment agents. No email or phone call. Considering there seems to be a lot of work around and I am qualified to do it I was letting the silence get to me. My wife could be pregnant in a few days, and I might be unemployed in a few weeks. I know Shan says that we share responsibilities for the finances, but I couldn’t help but feel like I was letting her down. She is putting her mind and body through this incredible process to make us a baby and I wasn’t keeping up my end of the bargain by taking care of my family. So that’s how I started the day, and that’s what was on my mind when I went to work.

At about 9.30am I received a call from a recruitment agent. A friend recommended I speak to her about contract work. She was apologetic about not calling back yesterday. We talked for about 10 minutes and she said based on my experience she can put me forward for a position at a government organisation and could place me as soon as next week. It’s in the city, which is great, and the pay is about $20k more than I’m on now – awesome! I’m seeing her Monday to chat and make sure I can prove who I am, with the view to me starting at this new job on the following Monday. This new position has the opportunity for fast promotion and the prospect of a long term, permanent job with the government. After my experience with ad agencies this will be a reassuring change. You know, I have a family to support now!

After that phone call I was pumped. SO PUMPED. The large V I drank around the same time probably didn’t help with the adrenaline. The rest of the day was amazing – locked in a key interview for a client with a major newspaper, got a lot done on my online portfolio, had lunch with my lady and spent the afternoon at home and down at the water walking around with our lovely dog, Bailey. During our walk, this song came on my iPod… Jason Mraz’ The Remedy. I wasn’t paying attention until the chorus where he says, “I won’t worry my life away.” It reminded me that every little thing really is going to be alright and there’s no need to worry.

Today is Hot Chip Friday and I can’t wait for my wife to get home so the weekend can begin. I’m so grateful so much changed today.

Zanne x

4 Responses to “Change is good”

  1. Doreen May 27, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    What a journey you guys are on…all the ups and downs..but it was lovely to see you today.

  2. ourtinydancer May 31, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    It was lovely to see you too Dor! It is a little hectic, but nothing we can’t handle. Zx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Here’s the story « our tiny dancer - June 3, 2011

    […] Zanne is dealing with all of this as well as trying to find a job. My poor love has the world on her shoulders I […]

  2. 7 June 2011 – the (bitter) end « our tiny dancer - June 9, 2011

    […] mentioned here and here Zanne has been on the job hunt recently, due to very unforeseen circumstances. Well, yesterday she […]

Leave a Reply

