Things I know this week

20 May

1. Getting your period can be a good thing, not just a pain in the ass.
 

2. My wife is wonderful. As is my boss. And my body is a wonderland!
 

3. I’m capable of giving myself an injection. Which will be handy if I want to take up a drug habit in my later years ala the grandfather in Little Miss Sunshine.

4. Apparently sharing IVF cycle news with friends can be a sensitive issue and make said friends feel envious/confronted/upset**. Sometimes I forget we’re all grown ups now. But it’s ok cos I would probably feel the same if the situation were reversed. I mean, I cried for a whole day after my nephew was born.

5. As much as you try, you can’t plan for everything. And sometimes the timing of those unplanned surprises can be pretty unfortunate (eg redundancy a couple of days into IVF cycle).

6. Every little thing is gonna be alright.

I wonder what things I’ll know next week?

Shan

*They will be fine of course, and they wish us well. I can’t wait ’til we all have the little ones we want.

3 Responses to “Things I know this week”

  1. katepickle May 20, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Oh it can be so tough sharing good news about pregnancy, or babies, or IVF when you know others are hurting or finding that topic hard at the moment…. but then I always feel bad if I don’t say anything too….

    Good luck with your IVF and I loved your number 6

    • ourtinydancer May 25, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      I guess we should have realised, given we’re all around the same age, that other people would also be trying to start a family. But obviously a lot people keep those sort of details to themselves, especially if things aren’t going as well as hoped. We’ve decided that honesty is definitely the best policy though no matter. And luckily our friends are lovely people and everyone wishes us well.

      Number 6 is a nod to the Bob Marley song Three Little Birds. Whenever one of us is feeling down the other always sings the chorus: don’t worry about a thing, cos everything little thing is gonna be alright. And one time, this happened: http://theshazanneshow.wordpress.com/2009/10/16/music-in-utero/ I still think that was amazing! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Here’s the story « our tiny dancer - June 3, 2011

    […] we joined the dots and realised we have 3 embryos, we want 3 kids, and our “family song” is Three Little Birds by Bob Marley. Another sign! Yes, every little thing is gonna be alright! […]

Leave a Reply

