the start of something big

8 May

Yo! It’s Zanne here, Shan’s much younger and ever so slightly taller wife. Shan’s kinda busy at the minute tidying the house so I offered to guest blog today. Why didn’t I offer to tidy the house instead so Shan could blog herself? Valid question. Anyway…

On Tuesday we begin the most important stage of our life – baby makin’. We’ve been planning to have a family since we first fell in love and finally the time is right. We’re married, we have our house, we have stable jobs, we’re not planning an overseas move and we’re ready. Like really ready. If Shan’s uterus could talk it would have the potty mouth of a sailor cursing us for not starting sooner. But we’re not the kind of people to rush into big things, especially when it concerns the most important little things we’ll ever have in our lives.

Tuesday will be our second visit with our Dr at the Queensland Fertility Group. We chose the QFG based on their repuation, recommendations and because they’re one of only a couple of fertility clinics in Brisbane with female doctors. My wife wanted a female doctor – her uterus, her choice. We went to see her about 6 months ago just to get the low-down on the process and costs so we could plan for it. This week we go back to sign up and start the actual process. The sign up involves blood tests for us both, a chat with the psychologist, and a visit with the Semen Coordinator (yes, that is her official title) where we talk through donor selection. The donor sperm comes from the US and we’ll be given access to donor profiles to go through and select the one we would like to use. We’ve decided to use an unknown donor (with 18+ donor consent), the reasons for which we will leave for a seperate blog.

Following consultation with the doctor, we’ve chosen to use IVF. Although more expensive, we have a 50% chance to fall pregnant on the first go (as opposed to 20% chance with the cheaper option, and 5% chance with the cheapest option). We’ll be able to tell you more after our visit but it is our understanding that the process for IVF will mean a lot of vitamins and drugs for Shan for a few months so she can produce enough eggs for them to harvest. Our expectation is that she will be on them for about 3 months before they take the eggs and prepare and finally implant one. So our first try will be July/August if there are no problems. Which means next Mother’s Day might be a very happy day for us both.

Shan has decided to be very open and honest with blogging about our baby making process, which I support wholeheartedly. She’s an incredibly amazing person and will be the best mother in the entire world and I want our kids to know and understand just how much we wanted them. We want them to be able to read back over this and know that despite the stress, costs and possible disapointment we might face, we worked through it all to get them here. We just love them already.

I’ll wrap it up here and Shan can let you know how we go on Tuesday. But i’ll leave you with this photo. It was taken about 6 weeks after we started dating at little Noah’s naming day, almost 3 years ago. This was the exact moment I knew Shan and I were going to get married and have babies. 

 And now we are.

7 Responses to “the start of something big”

  1. Liss May 8, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Good lord I’m all choked up and excited. I’ve got to say it your blog is the most wonderful one I’ve come across in such a long time – I love it and please keep going because I want to follow your wonderful journey!

    Yayyy! On to the baby makin’ business gals!! x

    • ourtinydancer May 9, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Thank you so much Liss! I really hope that I’m able to capture and record this exciting time, as well as all the beautiful moments and details inbetween of course. I imagine my blog to be a sort of “time capsule” really, kind of proof of life. Cos when the mummy-brain kicks in, I’m not sure how much of all of this I’ll remember! 😉

  2. katesaysstuff May 8, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Wow such an exciting time in your lives! Hope all goes well at the appointment and I’m going to be following this blog with interest, you have such an awesome journey ahead 🙂

    Meanwhile, don’t know if I’d love to have ‘semen coordinator’ on my business card 😉

    • ourtinydancer May 9, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

      Exciting indeed! I can’t concentrate on anything else – I even caught the wrong train tonight cos I was busy daydreaming about our baby plans. Oops.

      I wouldn’t want “semen coordinator”on my business card, that’s for sure! Although, a lesbian semen coordinator would make for lots of laughs I reckon 🙂

  3. Doreen May 11, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this exciting news. Loving your blog..I better get knitting for the tiny dancer I reckon..and sewing and quilting. But can’t imagine going to work without you there Shannon..maybe that’s when I’ll retire,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blue jean (IVF) baby « our tiny dancer - May 12, 2011

    […] as my lovely wife described on the weekend, we’ve wanted a baby since the beginning of time/us. Having been conceived in our hearts and […]

  2. out of the freezer, into the oven « our tiny dancer - June 26, 2011

    […] in spite of my dream about forgetting our FET appointment. This afternoon I completely gave in to my potty-mouthed uterus and did some baby shopping on Etsy. I purchased this hat, this hat and this print. If you ask me, […]

Leave a Reply

